Salud

March 15, 2009

Last night, I decided to celebrate my new job at a cafe that I had been dying to try called SALUD in Midwood, Brooklyn. I had read glowing reviews of this “Latin take on Organic Goodness” in a few blogs and wanted to try one of their smoothies. Unfortunately, I discovered that they accept CASH ONLY and didn’t have enough on me to try both a smoothie and a sandwich. I tried the “Chicken” salad sandwich ($5.95) and an African Autumn hot tea ($1.75), as well as a sip of the freshly squeezed apple juice ($3.95 for a small). I’m not a vegan or vegetarian, but I really enjoy tofu and soy products. The sandwich was very tasty. The faux-chicken salad was moist and tasted slightly tangy between a slightly dry wheat bread and fresh lettuce and tomato. The tea was good too. It reminded me of Tazo tea, but it was more fragrant and looked more handmade and original. The apple juice was extremely fresh, but seemed a bit overpriced for a small cup of juice. 

The atmosphere of this small/medium sized cafe was amazing. There were fake orchids on each table, and the yellow and teal colors complimented each other nicely. There were various seating choices (stools, folding chairs, cool teal boxes) and everything still seemed new. As soon as you walk in, you might smell strong and fragrant coffee. I thought it might have been the Mexican hot chocolate, as it smelled a bit sweet too. 

Overall, I really enjoyed SALUD – I wish I had enough cash to try a smoothie. I’ve heard they’re amazing, as well as the hot chocolate. They offer different soy, oat, and rice milks for the smoothie base, which is great. It seems a tad overpriced, but what isn’t these days? I’ll definitely be going back to try one of their smoothies. 

 

salud

salud2

Photos courtesty of yelp.com: http://www.yelp.com/biz/salud-new-york-2

Leave a Reply

